University News

special olympics with TitansUDM Assistant Women’s Basketball Coach Ke’Sha Blanton (center, foreground) speaks with children from the Special Olympics of Detroit.

Titans host Detroit Special Olympics event on campus

The University of Detroit Mercy Athletic Department and the Detroit Chapter of the Special Olympics of Michigan came together for a great event on April 3, 2014, which was held at Calihan Hall.

Almost 100 children from the Special Olympics of Detroit came to hone their skills in basketball, track and field and soccer, while Titan student athletes, coaches and staff were on hand. FOX 2 news was also there to capture the sights and sounds of the day.

“It was a great event and none of it could be possible without the help of the Special Olympics of Detroit and our student-athletes, coaches and staff,” said Amy Gasahl, event coordinator and UDM Titans academic coordinator & assistant director of compliance. “We did this event two years ago, and this year, we had more kids come out. Just seeing the look on their faces as they get to take part in these activities is priceless.” Source:

For more information about UDM, or to apply online, go to

Print Friendly Print-friendly