About Detroit Mercy


About Detroit Mercy

Founded in 1877 by the Society of Jesus (the Jesuits), University of Detroit Mercy is Michigan’s largest and most comprehensive Catholic university. In 1990, University of Detroit consolidated with Mercy College of Detroit, which was founded in 1941 by the Religious Sisters of Mercy, to form University of Detroit Mercy. Detroit Mercy offers more than 100 undergraduate, graduate and professional academic degrees and programs through seven schools and colleges. Detroit Mercy educates the whole person, focusing on the value of excellent academics, service to the community and a deeper spirituality to prepare graduates to live lives of purpose. 

Our Mission:

University of Detroit Mercy, a Catholic university in the Jesuit and Mercy traditions, exists to provide excellent student-centered undergraduate and graduate education in an urban context. A Detroit Mercy education seeks to integrate the intellectual, spiritual, ethical and social development of our students

Our Vision:

University of Detroit Mercy will be recognized as a premier private university in the Great Lakes region, distinguished by graduates who lead and serve in their communities.


Open All | Close All



    Regional Institutional Accreditation

    Institution-wide accreditation is governed by the Higher Learning Commission (HLC). HLC is a regional accrediting agency recognized by the U.S. Department of Education that oversees more than 1,000 colleges and universities in 19 states. All HLC member institutions are required to undergo a full accreditation review every 10 years. Please see our Statement of Academic Standing (SAS) on the HLC website for information regarding our current status. 

    For more information about the accreditation status of Detroit Mercy contact:

    Higher Learning Commission
    30 South LaSalle Street, Suite 7-500
    Chicago, Illinois 60604-1411

    Please contact the HLC only in relation to the University’s compliance with accreditation requirements. Normal inquiries about admission requirements, educational programs, and financial aid should be directed to the University.

    Academic Program Accreditation

    In addition to the University's institutional accreditation, a large number of academic programs are accredited.  Accredited academic programs consist of undergraduate, graduate and professional degree programs across the University.  For the most recent, complete list of accredited academic programs and accreditation status, please see the Academic Program Standing document.



    Administrative Team

    Administrative Leadership Roster
    Position Title Name
    University President Donald B. Taylor, Ph.D.
    Provost and VP for Academic Affairs Pamela Zarkowski, J.D., M.P.H.
    VP for Finance & Administration Thomas Manceor, C.P.A.
    VP for Enrollment Management & Student Affairs Deborah Stieffel, M.S.
    VP for University Advancement Arnold D'Ambrosio, M.A.L.S.
    Assistant to the President for Mission Integration Vacant
    Executive Assistant to the President Lisa MacDonnell, M.A.L.S.
    University Secretary and Senior Attorney Monica Barbour, J.D.
    Director of Athletics Robert Vowels, J.D.
    Director of University Ministry Anita Klueg, M.T.S.
    Dean of Students Monica Williams, M.A.
    Associate VP for Facilities Management & Campus Services Tamara Batcheller, M.S.
    Associate VP for Academic Administration Karen Lee, Ph.D.
    Associate VP for Finance Kimberly Koelb, C.P.A.
    Associate VP for Human Resources Netina Anding-Moore, M.S.A. 
    Associate VP for Information Technology Edward G. Tracy II, M.S.C.I.S.
    Associate VP for Marketing & Communications Gary Erwin, M.F.A.
    Associate VP / University Registrar Diane Praet, M.B.A.
    Director of Public Safety Joel Gallihugh, B.S.


    Academic Leadership Roster
    University unit Dean
    School of Architecture & Community Development Daniel Pitera, M.Arch.
    College of Business Administration Joseph G. Eisenhauer, Ph.D.
    School of Dentistry Mert N. Aksu, D.D.S., J.D., M.H.S.A.
    College of Engineering & Science Katherine Snyder, Ph.D.
    College of Health Professions
    & McAuley School of Nursing (Interim)
    Janet Baiardi, PhD, FNP-BC
    School of Law Jelani Jefferson Exum, J.D.
    College of Liberal Arts & Education Jocelyn M. Boryczka, Ph.D.
    University Libraries (Interim) Marilyn Dow, M.L.I.S.