News Release

CLAE Inducts Seven Inductees into Hall of Honor

In early Oct., over 100 people attended University of Detroit Mercy’s College of Liberal Arts & Education’s second annual Hall of Honor Celebration. The luncheon and ceremony, which recognized the professional achievements of seven individuals, were held at the Detroit Golf Club.

The honorees were recognized for giving back their valuable time and resources to the University in many different ways, helping it flourish and grow. The eight inductees were:

  • K. Noreen Keating ’63, President, Enhancing Your Nonprofit
  • Elmore J. Leonard, Jr. ’50, Novelist
  • Jean Maday ’62, Director, Scholarships and Grants, Department of Education, State of Michigan
  • L. Brooks Patterson ’61, ’67, County Executive, Oakland County, Michigan
  • Neal Shine ’52, Former Managing Editor and Publisher, Detroit Free Press
  • Ronald J. Thayer ’62, Consultant, Continental Dining Services
  • James W. Woodruff, Former Provost, University of Detroit

Release date: October 07,2010

# # #

For more information about UDM, or to apply online, go to

Print Friendly Print-friendly