Undergraduate Retention Committee

Click here for committee minutes or summaries.
(UDM email name and  password required)

Click here for help

Committee Membership

Twelve-member Committee: three administrative representatives designated by the AVP, one staff representative designated by the AVP, one faculty member selected by the MFA from among its members, four elected representatives of the McNichols faculty, one librarian, and two students.


6 faculty representatives

Mary-Catherine Harrison, English, College of Liberal Arts & Education (term expires 3/2015)

Gail Mitchell, Music, College of Liberal Arts & Education (term expires 3/2015)

Sandra Wilson, Reference Department, McNichols Campus Library (term expires 3/2015)

Amanda Hiber, Engish, College of Liberal Arts & Education (term expires 3/2016)

Carmen Stokes, Nursing, McAuley School of Nuring, College of Health Professions (term expires 3/2016)

Evan Peterson, Business Administration, College of Business Administration (term expires 3/2015) (MFA)

3 administrative representatives

Sheryl McGriff, Chairperson, Dean, Career Education Services (term expires 8/2015)

Emilie Wetherington, Director, University Academic Services (term expires 8/2016)

Monica Williams, Dean of Students (term expires 8/2016)

1 staff representative

Jean Krystyniak, Coordinator, Language & Cultural Training (term expires 8/2015)  

2 student representatives

TBD (term expires 8/2015)

TBD (term expires 8/2016)

Invited Participants

The chairperson of a Team and/or the administrator to whom the Team reports may add guests in an “Invited Participant” category. Individuals are invited because of their expertise, potential contributions, or history with the team but have no voting rights.  The term of service for invited participants is not to exceed two years.  Invited participants are not eligible for reappointment in this category.  A team may not exceed three invited participants at any given time.

Omid Sabbaghi, Business Administration, College of Business Administration (term expires 8/2014)

Carmen Stokes, Nursing, McAuley School of Nursing, College of Health Professions (term expires 8/2014)

2013-2014 Charge

  • Develop an operational definition and vision of Student Success for UDM.
    • Determine the problem we are trying to solve – Example: Improve the retention rate of all first-time full-time students from the first to second year by 2% for the next three years for a total of 6% more students retained from the first to second year. 
  • Through carefully structured Student Success Teams, review recent Retention Committee publications & student retention data to determine and fill gaps in a comprehensive, rigorous and evidence-based institutional assessment.
  • Examine best practices at “like” institutions and conduct a performance “gap analysis.”
  • Establish goals for UDM, 2013-2014 through 2023-2024, framed around policy, practices, programs, personnel and performance.
  • Present actionable and prioritized recommendations for radically transforming Student Success at UDM (by April 15, 2014).
  • Utilize advising survey outcomes to work with other relevant committees (Undergrad Coordinators, Faculty Development Team, etc.) to make recommendation for a centralized advising model at UDM.
  • Research funding opportunities for centralized advising center.

Note: Numbers indicate the corresponding 2012-2017 University Strategic Plan action steps Click here to view

Ongoing Responsibilities

  • Complete Focus on Retention: Divergent Perspectives white paper.
  • Review annual, semi-annual, & longitudinal retention outcomes and report observations to senior administrators and university leadership.
  • Forward recommendations to appropriate administrators/areas regarding student life issues and strategies to improve student-faculty interaction and communication.
  • Provide recommendations to the Provost/VPAA for key links that could be added to the Provost/VPAA website pertinent to student retention that would be a resource for faculty, administrators and staff.
  • Upon request, provide input for university or college initiatives to support retention activities, i.e. centralized advising.
  • Keep the university community informed of committee activities by providing summary minutes of meetings and reports to (sharedgovernance@udmercy.edu).  Information will be posted to the shared governance website (udmercy.edu/governance).  The secretary of the committee is responsible for these postings and for informing Campus Connections of new postings. If there is no secretary identified for the committee, a member should be selected who is responsible for this task.

Initial Organizational Structure and Tasks

Click Here to view Archive