Past Issues

Alumni Classnotes

Find out the latest about your classmates! Visit Alumni Classnotes on the UDM web site.

Alumni Events

Theatre Season

Giving to UDM

Make a new or increased gift to the University between September 1 and December 31 to be entered to win two tickets to the Super Bowl XL on February 5, 2006 at Ford Field in Detroit.

UDM News and Events

Alumni Events Alumni Online Community News and Events

Search UDM's web site:

Alumni Newsletters

Tapestry - Fall 2005

Honors Program inducts 27 new members

Inductees are presented with the Honors Challenge Triad and come forward to receive their Honors pins.

In addition to this year’s dinner was the attendance of several already inducted members who turned out to greet the new inductees, including Jennifer Janusch (below at far left) and John Chirco (far right), who are posing with outgoing student deans Jackie Eisel and Beth Reifert (center-left and center-right, respectively).


A record 83 guests attended the University Honors Program annual Induction Ceremony and Dinner on Oct. 9 at Pasquale’s Restaurant in Royal Oak. The assembled membership and their guests sat down to dinner after UDM President Gerard Stockhausen, S.J., offered blessings. Between dinner and dessert, Professor of Biology R. Gerard Albright, S.J., gave the annual “Final Lecture” through which he challenged the 27 inductees to not waste their days of youth.

Gerard Albright, S.J. delivers "The Final Lecture”

The “Final Lecture” had its origin in the Honors Program at Mercy College of Detroit. Every year during the 1980s, Honors students at Mercy selected a speaker from the faculty, who was asked to imagine that “This is your last chance to speak to your students. What is the most important thing you have to say to them?” The “Final Lecture” was re-inaugurated in October 2002 by the University of Detroit Mercy Honors Program. The Final Lecturer is selected by a poll of the general membership every Winter term.

Read the 2005 Final Lecture and the Final Lectures dating back to 2002.