Faculty Tidbits

The Impact, Fall 2003

Faculty recognized for years of service
The following Engineering & Science colleagues were recognized for their years of service at the University on November 20:

40 Years
John O’Neill, S.J., professor, Mathematics

35 Years
Michael Skaff, professor, and associate chair, Mathematics & Computer Science

20 Years
Shulamith Schlick, professor, Chemistry/Biochemistry
Uptal Dutta, professor and chair, Civil and Environmental Engineering

10 Years
Stokes Baker, associate professor, Biology
Jonathan Weaver, associate professor, Mechanical Engineering

Shuva Das, associate professor, Mechanical Engineering, received the ASEE Best Teacher Award for the North Central section.

Sandra Yost, CSJ, associate professor, Electrical and Computer Engineering, was named Zone Two chair for the National Board of Directors of ASEE.

David Lee, director, Manufacturing Engineering Program, was elected and inducted as president of the Society of Manufacturing Engineers. SME is an international professional society dedicated to serving its members and the manufacturing community.

Kevin Daimi, professor and chair, Mathematics and Computer Science, was elected as a Fellow of the British Computer Society.

New Faculty
The College of Engineering & Science welcomed the following new colleagues at the start of fall term:

Leslie Berhan, assistant professor of Mechanical Engineering/Civil Engineering, received a bachelor of science degree from The University of the West Indies, a master’s degree in Civil Engineering from MIT and a Ph.D. in Mechanical Engineering from University of Michigan. Previously, she worked at University of Michigan and Albert Kahn Associates.

Michael Jenkins, chair and professor of Mechanical Engineering, received his Bachelor of Science in Mechanical Engineering from Marquette University, his master’s degree from Purdue University and his Ph.D. from University of Washington, Seattle. Prior to joining UDM, he was a professor and associate chair of Mechanical Engineering at University of Washington.

Lazaros Kikas, instructor of Mathematics, received both his Bachelor of Science in Electrical Engineering, and his Master of Science in Mathematics from UDM. He also holds a Master’s in Applied Mathematics from University of Maryland-College Park and is pursuing his Ph.D. in Applied Mathematical Science from Oakland University. He previously taught at Saint Mary’s College in Notre Dame, Ind.

Betty Lee, instructor of Math Education, received a Bachelor of Science in Mathematics from Wayne State University. She earned three master’s degrees: two from Wayne State University (General Elementary Education and Instructional Technology) and one from University of Detroit (Mathematics). She is currently a doctoral candidate at Wayne State University. She taught in the Detroit Public School System for 20 years.

Ruth Miller, instructor of Computer Science, received her master’s degree from the University of Houston, where she is a Ph.D. candidate. Miller has previously taught at the University of Toledo and Illinois State University.

Angela Polk, director, Ford PAS program, received her Bachelor of Science in Humanities from Lawrence Technology University. For five years, she was the program administrator for the Detroit Area Pre-College Engineering Program (DAPCEP).