Brothers present award in father’s name at Honors Convocation

The Current, Summer 2003

Photo: The Fitzgerald brothers and Fitzgerald Award recipient Mario Tabone.




It was a family affair as brothers James P. Fitzgerald (’59), John E. Fitzgerald (’61, ’65), and Gerald Fitzgerald (’63) returned to the College of Business and Administration to present an award named after their father, Lloyd E. Fitzgerald, dean of College of Commerce and Finance from 1935 to 1963. Accompanied to the ceremony by their families, the Fitzgerald brothers presented the distinguished Fitzgerald Award to Mario Tabone (see related story) at the College’s Honors Convocation on April 6.

Dean Fitzgerald is remembered for his dedication to student and faculty development. He is also credited with earning the College full accreditation by the American Assembly of Collegiate Schools of Business, now called The Association to Advance Collegiate Schools of Business.

The Fitzgerald Award is presented to the graduating Business Administration senior designated as having the optimum record of scholarship, student leadership and services to the University. The award was first presented at the inaugural College of Commerce in Finance Honors Convocation in 1965 and has been presented annually ever since. This is the first year the Fitzgerald brothers presented the award.

Other awards presented at the Honor’s Convocation include:

Accounting Award: Peter N. Toma, Stephanie Y. Webb
Association of Information Technology Professionals Award: Lahai S. Charles
Association of Information Technology Professionals Certificate: William E. Bowen, Vincenza G. Sancimino
Beta Alpha PSI Certificate: Peter N. Toma
Beta Alpha PSI Award: Bernard J. Fuhs
Betta Gamma Sigma Award: Aaron C. Byrd
Computer and Information Systems Certificate: LaShawn D. Artiaga, William E. Bowen, George H. Latimer-Knight, Marcia D. Mealy
Computer and Information Systems Award: Danielle L. Campbell, Nicole D. Wilinski
Dean’s Leadership Key: Christopher P. Gazdag
Dean’s Award: Aaron C. Byrd, Treena L. Guy, Terry L. Howard
Finance Award: LaJuadna S. Rogers, Pete Zigouras
Financial Executives International Award: Bernard J. Fuhs
Financial Executives International Service Award: Terry L. Howard
Business Administration Award: Taiwo I. Akiode, Admir Arnautovic, Brian P. Dunne, Augusto C. Flores, Christopher P. Gazdag, Yadira Maldonado, Aaron J. McLean, Michael Mitrevski, Matthew R. Theisen
Human Resources Management Award: Estelle M. Horne
International Business Award: Danuta B. Borowska
Management Award: Tiffany D. Robertson
Marketing Award: Mario A. Tabone
Wall Street Journal Award: Bernard J. Fuhs