Beta Gamma Sigma celebrates 50th Anniversary

The Current, Summer 2002

Printer-friendly version of this article

On March 24, 2002, 30 new members were inducted into Beta Gamma Sigma, the National Scholastic Honor Society in business and management at the University of Detroit Mercy. The event included 25 alumni and four of the UDM Chapter's charter members.

"This was a first class event befitting the chapter's 50th anniversary," says Bruce M. Brorby, Assistant Dean of the College of Business Administration and President of the Beta of Michigan chapter. "Not only did we have the best of our students, there were also alumni present from every decade from the 1950s to the present, and four of our charter members were recognized as well."

The charter members present at the celebration included Frank H. Bredeweg, C.S.E.; Richard E. Czarnecki, Ph.D.; the Honorable Roman S. Gribbs, who was the guest speaker; and Charleton G. Schoeffler, Ph.D.

James Viehland, Executive Director of Beta Gamma Sigma, delivered greetings and congratulations from the organization's headquarters in St. Louis.

Membership in Beta Gamma Sigma is the highest national recognition a student can receive in an undergraduate or master's program in business or management. To be eligible for Beta Gamma Sigma membership, a student must rank in the top seven percent of his or her junior class, the top 10 percent of his or her senior class, or the top twenty percent of those receiving master's degrees.

Those initiated to the UDM chapter included juniors Aaron C. Byrd, Bernard J. Fuhs, Polly J. Jones, Lajuanda S. Rogers, Peter N. Toma; seniors Courtney L. Chidester, Roomanah Mirza, James W. Murray, Raymond Smith, and Matille M. Thebolt; masters candidates Aaron E. Ball, Steven M. Beane, Colleen B. Beaumont, Robert C. Echlin, Michael P. Hailer, Morris Y. His, Jerome A. Kleinhenz, Craig M. Malek, Michelle R. Mischley, Teresa M. Molnar, Roshan D. Pinto, John B. Poris, Keith D. Rohland, Steven J. Schauer, Gregory J. Selke, Feras T. Shammami, Diane M. Sweetwood, Joseph G. Ursuy, and Wayne W. Wong; and Gary A. Giamartino, Ph.D., Dean of UDM's College of Business Administration.

The University of Detroit Mercy College of Business Administration is accredited by the Association to Advance Collegiate Schools of Business (AACSB International). UDM's College of Business Administration has been accredited for more than 50 years.